Fall 2014 Semester, BNCO Final Remarks

Battalion,

In our outdoor lab at the beginning of the semester, I outlined four aspects of my vision for the semester. These were mentorship, communication, community knowledge, and professional development. You’ve indicated that the formal program has been effective, but I can’t stress the importance of continuing to seek mentors in whatever area of life you find yourselves. Indeed, the seniors have already taken the next step toward their futures, but for the rest of you, make sure you are informed and prepared to make this life-changing decision when the time comes. Lastly, continue to maintain yourselves as professionals in every sense of the word.

Moving away from the formal side of things, I want to once again welcome and congratulate the 4/C on their first semester of NROTC. This is a huge commitment, and I have seen you all grow tremendously since you first walked through the hallways of Newport. Some of you have faced their fair share of difficulties already, but this is just the beginning. Keep on pushing, and do whatever it takes for you to excel. It will all pay off in the long run.

To the sophomores and juniors: you have either 1.5 – 2.5 years of ROTC and college experience under your belt. You’re growing ever closer to the fleet, and you will soon be facing leadership challenges in ROTC, if you haven’t already. These are all experiences that you’ll take with you to the fleet, and you will definitely learn from them and make mistakes along the way.

My fellow seniors: we have grown together for the past seven semesters, and I remember our first NS classes together with LT Sieg. I have never been so close with a group of friends as I am now with you. You will all make fine officers, and it has been my pleasure to lead and serve you. Thank you for all the advice you have given me along the way, as I will never forget out time together. Let’s make our last semester our best one yet.

Last, but definitely not least, I want to give special recognition to everyone on Battalion Staff. The job you all do is thankless, and you have seen that first hand this semester. But now, I want to thank each one of you for all of the work that you’ve put forth. It is because of you that the MIDN Battalion has functioned as well as it has, and it is no small task to do what you do on top of everything else that you have accomplished in school this semester. Especially to my XO, Bridget McCoy, I know every Battalion Commander says this, but I truly mean it: without you, none of this would have been possible this semester. You made my job infinitely easier, and I know you’ll end up doing great things wherever you go.

I wish MIDN Forsey, the SP15 Battalion Commander, all the best, and congratulate him once again on his achievement. Before I do that, I want to thank you all again for your hard work and dedication this semester. Good luck on finals and enjoy winter break!

V/r,

A.F. Hayden

Leave a Reply

